Agenda and minutes

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall - Imperial Square, Cheltenham, GL50 1QA. View directions

Contact: Bev Thomas, Democratic Services Team Leader 

Note: Local authorities are now required to hold their meetings in person. The council has chosen to hold this meeting at Cheltenham Town Hall with Councillors participating at the venue using Cisco webex. This will ensure the meeting can be livestreamed as due to current coronavirus regulations space at the venue is limited. We would therefore encourage you to watch this meeting online via 

No. Item




Apologies received from Councillors Baker, Barnes, Bassett-Smith, Flynn, Hegenbarth and Seacome


Present in Cheltenham Town Hall : Cllrs Atherstone, Barrell, Boyes, Britter, Clark, Collins, Dobie, Fisher, Harman, Harvey, Hay, Holliday, Horwood, Jeffries, Lewis, Maughfling, McCloskey, McKinlay, Oliver, Payne, Pineger, Sankey, Savage Wheeler, Wilkinson, Willingham, Williams


Present via Webex (non voting) Cllrs Babbage, Brownsteen, Clucas, Fifield, Mason, Nelson, Stafford



Declarations of interest


Councillors Babbage, Fifield, Fisher, Harman, Nelson, Wheeler, Williams, Willingham declared an interest as County Councillors.


Appointment of Honorary Aldermen pdf icon PDF 218 KB

To consider a report recommending the appointment of former councillors as Honorary Aldermen in recognition of their service to the Council


The Chief Executive introduced the report and explained that Council may confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who it considered had rendered eminent services to the Authority in their past roles as councillors.


 Historically, Council had conferred the title of Honorary Alderman upon its past members in recognition of both long service and significant contribution to the Authority’s affairs.


 The longstanding local criteria which had been applied when conferring the title of Honorary Alderman was that the person had at least 16 years service or had been a past Mayor and Chairman of the Council


 The Chief Executive reported that a number of former Councillors fell within the criteria and had been nominated by the Group Leaders.


 He explained that once agreed by Council, their appointments would be recognised as part of the Inauguration of the Mayor ceremony at the Town Hall that evening.


RESOLVED THAT former Councillors


Chris Coleman

Malcolm Stennett

Klara Sudbury

Roger Whyborn


be conferred the title of Honorary Alderman