Council

Monday, 17th May, 2021 3.55 - 4.00 pm

Attendees	
Councillors:	Steve Harvey (Chair), Sandra Holliday (Vice-Chair), Victoria Atherstone, Matt Babbage, Dilys Barrell, Angie Boyes, Nigel Britter, Jonny Brownsteen, Barbara Clark, Flo Clucas, Mike Collins, Iain Dobie, Stephan Fifield, Bernard Fisher, Wendy Flynn, Tim Harman, Rowena Hay, Martin Horwood, Peter Jeffries, Alisha Lewis, Chris Mason, Guy Maughfling, Paul McCloskey, Andrew McKinlay, Emma Nelson, Tony Oliver, John Payne, Richard Pineger, Louis Savage, Julie Sankey, Jo Stafford, Simon Wheeler, Max Wilkinson, Suzanne Williams and David Willingham

Minutes

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies received from Councillors Baker, Barnes, Bassett-Smith, Hegenbarth and Seacome

Present in Cheltenham Town Hall: Cllrs Atherstone, Barrell, Boyes, Britter, Clark, Collins, Dobie, Fisher, Flynn, Harman, Harvey, Hay, Holliday, Horwood, Jeffries, Lewis, Maughfling, McCloskey, McKinlay, Oliver, Payne, Pineger, Sankey, Savage Wheeler, Wilkinson, Willingham, Williams

Present via Webex (non voting) Cllrs Babbage, Brownsteen, Clucas, Fifield, Mason, Nelson, Stafford

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillors Babbage, Fifield, Fisher, Harman, Nelson, Wheeler, Williams, Willingham declared an interest as County Councillors.

3. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Chief Executive introduced the report and explained that Council may confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who it considered had rendered eminent services to the Authority in their past roles as councillors.

Historically, Council had conferred the title of Honorary Alderman upon its past members in recognition of both long service and significant contribution to the Authority's affairs.

The longstanding local criteria which had been applied when conferring the title of Honorary Alderman was that the person had at least 16 years service or had been a past Mayor and Chairman of the Council

The Chief Executive reported that a number of former Councillors fell within the criteria and had been nominated by the Group Leaders.

He explained that once agreed by Council, their appointments would be recognised as part of the Inauguration of the Mayor ceremony at the Town Hall that evening.

RESOLVED THAT former Councillors

Chris Coleman Malcolm Stennett Klara Sudbury Roger Whyborn

be conferred the title of Honorary Alderman

Steve Harvey Chairman