EXTRACT FROM THE MINUTES OF THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE 9 JULY 2010

Present: (Independent Members) Simon Lainé (Chair), Duncan Chittenden,

Jon Leamon and David O'Connor. (Borough Councillors) Councillors

John Rawson, Les Godwin and Robin MacDonald (Parish

Councillors) Parish Councillor Gloria Coleman

Also in Borough Solicitor and Monitoring Officer - Sara Freckleton

attendance: Solicitor One Legal – Sarah Farooqi

Democratic Services Manager – Rosalind Reeves

(2.30 pm - 4.05pm)

4. NOMINATION OF A NEW PARISH COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE TO THE COMMITTEE

The Borough Solicitor and Monitoring Officer advised that the four-year term of Parish Councillor Stuart Fowler had come to an end in March 2010 and therefore the C5 Parish Councillor group had been approached to nominate a new parish council representative to the committee. C5 had met earlier that week and had nominated Parish Councillor David Iliffe.

The chair welcomed Parish Councillor David Iliffe who was in attendance at the meeting as a member of the public.

In response to a question from a member, the Borough Solicitor and Monitoring Officer advised that whilst there was no statutory prohibition against a Parish Councillor serving for more than four years on the Standards Committee, it appeared that the Council's practice was to seek a new parish council representative when their four-year term came to an end. This practice could be reviewed once the future of the Standards regime is known.

Resolved that:

- i) It be recommended to Council that Parish Councillor David Iliffe be appointed to the Standards Committee for a four-year term
- ii) The committee's appreciation of the contribution of Parish Councillor Stuart Fowler to the committee during his term of office be noted and their thanks expressed to him.